Four Mankato Area Public Schools’ West High School students have been named commended students in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program for their exceptional academic promise:

  • Lane Alfstad (not pictured)
  • Benjamin Crockett
  • William Gronewald
  • Emily Spieker

Commended students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.5 million students who entered the competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.